Select Page

Bells Beach, VIC/AUS (Sunday 27th, May 2018): Australian Champions have been crowned on Wathaurong Country today at the Australian Indigenous Surfing Titles Bells Beach with Rohnin Henry-Micale (Woolongong, NSW) and Summer Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) claiming the premier Open Men and Women divisions.
With a drop in swell over night into finals day, competitors made light work of the small 1-2ft waves and offshore winds.
In what was a hard fought and close battle between two up and coming junior surfers, the Open Men’s Final saw the lead change consistently throughout the heat.
In the end it was 17 year old Rohnin Henry-Micale (Woolongong, NSW) who was crowned Australian Indigenous Champion.
Henry-Micale was dominant in the Final locking in a heat total of 14.33 (out of a possible 20).
“I’m feeling good, this is the first event I have ever one so I’m stoked,” said Henry-Micale.
“Its rare to get Bells with not many people out so its awesome to surf here in the event.”
“Its just great to meet so many new people and catch up with friends down here that you don’t see very often.”
Finishing in second was 14 year old Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) who earlier in the day claimed the Junior Boys Division. Simon finished on a heat total of 12.34 points in the Open Mens final.
In the Junior Boys, Brooman Page (Kempsy, NSW) finished in third with Zane Silvester (Gold Coast, QLD) in fourth.
Summer Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) once again has dominated the female divisions at the event by claiming the Open Women and Junior Girls divisions.
“This is my fourth year here now, its such a culturally significant place and being able to surf Bells with just a few other people is amazing.”
“There is always a new story to tell and listen to when you are down here for the event. I am just stoked to win again.”
Simon finished on a heat total of 9.14 points in the Open Women’s Final.
Placing in second in the Open Women’s was Jalaan Slabb (Fingal, NSW) with Bohdie Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) and Amber Harrison (Lakes Entrance, VIC) in third and fourth.
Slabb also finished in second in the Junior Girls with Amber Harrison (Lakes Entrance, VIC) and Bohdie Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) in third and fourth.
The Over 35 Masters Division saw the first ever Victorian to claim an Indigenous Australian Title with Anthony Hume winning the title on his home soil.
Hume excelled in the small surf with a heat total of 13.00 point total to beat former event champion Robbie Page (Kempsy, NSW) who finished on 12.00 point total.
Placing in third and fourth was Scott Winch (Woolongong, NSW) and Alby Campbell (La Perouse, NSW).
The Longboard Division saw perennial winner Tom Avery claim top honors for the third consecutive year. Avery took out the division with a heat total of 12.26 points. Finishing in second was Robbie Page (Kempsy, NSW).
Rhys Collins (Mornington Peninsula, VIC) and Jarrod Black (Torquay, VIC) finished in third and fourth.
Len Collard (Pingelly, WA) won the Elders Expression Session that was a new edition in 2018 to pay respect to Elders in the Indigenous Community.
The Walkabout Clothing & Super Brand Surfboards Rising Star Award went to Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW).
The Air Asia Wave of the Day for Sunday went to Rohnin Henry Micale (Woolongong, NSW) for his 8 point ride in the Open Mens Final.
The Australian Indigenous Surfing Titles ran from May 25 – 26, 2018 at Bells Beach on Victoria’s Surf Coast.
Live Scoring and Heat Draws can be viewed online at
The Australian Indigenous Surfing Titles is presented by VicHealth, Head Sox, The Victorian Government, The Surf Coast Shire, Corangamite CMA, Wathaurong Co-Op and supported by Play it Safe by the Water, Surfing Australia, Coastalwatch, Farm Foods, ONABAC, Air Asia, Strong Brother Strong Sister, VACSAL and Atmosphere Events.
Full Results

Open Men
1st  Rohnin Henry Micale (Woolongong)
2nd  Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)

Open Women
1st  Summer Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)
2nd  Jalaan Slabb (Fingal, NSW)
3rd  Bohdie Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)
4th  Amber Harrison (Lakes Entrance, VIC)
Masters Men
1st  Anthony Hume (Torquay, VIC)
2nd  Robbie Page (Kempsy, NSW)
3rd  Scott Winch (Woolongong, NSW)
4th  Alby Campbell (La Perouse, NSW)
Elders Expression Session
1st  Len Collard (Pingelly, WA)
1st  Tom Avery (Byron Bay, NSW)
2nd  Robbie Page (Kempsy, NSW)
3rd Rhys Collins (Mornington Peninsula, VIC)
4th  Jarrod Black (Torquay, VIC)
Junior Boys Presented by Corangamite CMA
1st Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)
2nd  Rohnin Henry Micale (Woolongong, NSW)
3rd  Brooman Page (Kempsy, NSW)
4th  Zane Sylvester
Junior Girls Presented by Corangamite CMA
1st  Summer Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)
2nd Jalaan Slabb (Fingal, NSW)
3rd  Amber Harrison (Lakes Entrance, VIC)
4th  Bohdi Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)
Walkabout Clothing / Super Brand Surfboards Rising Star Award
Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)
Air Asia Wave of the Day
Rohnin Henry Micale (Woolongong, NSW)