Select Page

Bells Beach, VIC/AUS (Sunday 28th May, 2017): Otis Carey (Coffs Harbour, NSW) has claimed his second Open Men Australian Indigenous Surfing Title today at Bells Beach on the traditional land of the Wada Wurrung people.

Held in clean 2-3ft waves at the world famous Bells Beach, the event brings together the top Indigenous surfers from around the country in an annual gathering.

Winning his last title in 2014, Carey showed his strength in the right hand waves putting together multiple carves and turns in the final to best 14 Year-Old Finn Hill (Avoca, NSW).

Carey took the event with a heat total of 16.23 points (out of a possible 20) over Hill’s 15.43 points.

“Its cool to win the event again, but for me the biggest thing is just being here at the event and having that sense of belonging to the community.”

“It has been two years since I won my last one, and that is a true testament to how strong the field at this event is every year.”

Hill made a strong comeback in the final minutes with a 9.50, however did not have a strong enough back up score to come out on top.

“Finn was surfing incredible” said Carey.  “I have never seen him surf before, but he definitely has a bright future.”

Surfing in the Open Women, 15 year old Summer Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) claimed her third title in a row showing class beyond her years.

Simon locked in a heat total of 18.50 points to finish ahead of Jasmine McCorquodale (Bateau Bay, NSW) on 13.04 points.

“I am just overwhelmed with the win” said an elated Simon.

“To get my highest ever heat total here in some great waves at Bells Beach is incredible.”

Finishing in third was Jarrah Clarke (La Perouse, NSW) on 9.93 points with Amber Harrison (Lakes Entrance, VIC) in fourth on 1.33 points.

The longboard division was taken out by Tom Avery (Lismore, NSW) with Robbie Page (Kempsey, NSW) in second place. Placing in third was Rhys Collins (Red Hill, VIC) with Jarrod Black (Torquay, VIC) in fourth.

The former Pipe Master Robbie Page also took out the Masters Men division. Rhys Collins placed in second with Scott Winch (Woollongong, NSW) and Mark Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) in third and fourth.

The inaugural Junior Boys and Girls divisions presented by Corangamite CMA were run in 2017 for the first time.

Finn Hill took the Junior Boys final ahead of Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW). Placing in third and fourth was Rohnin Hanry-Micale (Bellambi, NSW) and Zach Molony (Killarney Vale, NSW)

Summer Simon also took out the Junior Girls Division ahead of Jasmine McCorquodale and Jarrah Clarke. Bohdi Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) and Amber Harrison placed in fourth and fifth.

Full results can be found online at

Open Men

1st Otis Carey

2nd Finn Hill


Open Women

1st Summer Simon

2nd Jasmine McCorquodale

3rd Jarrah Clarke

4th Amber Harrison



1st Tom Avery

2nd Robbie Page

3rd Rhys Collins

4th Jarrod Black


Masters Men

1st Robbie Page

2nd Rhys Collins

3rd Scott Winch

4th Mark Simon


Junior Boys presented by Corangamite CMA

1st Finn Hill

2nd Taj Simon

3rd Rohnin Henry-Micale

4th Zach Molony


Junior Girls presented by Corangamite CMA

1st Summer Simon

2nd Jasmin McCorquodale

3rd Jarah Clarke

4th Bohdi Simon

5th Amber Harrison


The Australian Indigenous Surfing Titles is presented by HeadSox, VicHealth, The Victorian Government and the Australian Government National Landcare Program and supported by Surfing Australia, Surfing Victoria, Corangamite Catchment Management Authority, Play it Safe by the Water, Narana Aboriginal Cultural Centre, Wathaurong Aboriginal Cooperative, Telstra, ONABAC, VACSAL, Rocktape, and the Hurley High Performance Centre.